Jesus Take the Wheel

Jacksonville Blogger

For those of you who don’t know I recently underwent my very first surgery to repair my ACL & meniscus in my left knee. Going in I knew how serious the rehab was going to be since I would have to rebuild all the muscles in my leg, but what sat heaviest on my shoulders was going under and having that possibility of not coming back out. It was an out patient surgery and its very common I know, but I have never felt so much anxiety as much as I did that morning; just ask my nurse.. my heart rate was pretty high. With my stomach turning, full of knots & even though I tried so hard, tears couldn’t help but fall.

Before I went back to the surgery room my Mom kept assuring me that Jesus is watching out for me. Then my boy friend’s Mom read me some scriptures that stressed that I need to put all my worries in God’s hands. He will take care of me. Before my family left my side, much to my surprise the surgeon asked if he could pray over me. It was truly one of the most eye opening experiences in my life. It’s common that a lot of surgeons have a scientific outlook and don’t always believe in Jesus but for him to believe made me feel at ease.

After he lead a prayer with me, my mom & my boy friend I don’t remember much (thanks to the drugs) but something that stuck with me was that a nurse in the surgery room told me, “Leave it in his hands” and that I did.

Since surgery, I have made a promise to myself to make Jesus more of a priority in my life, whether it’s praying every day or finding time to read scriptures. He helped me through surgery, he’ll help me through this roller coaster thing they call rehab and he’ll help guide me in my every day life.

Leave a Reply

